Skip to content

Difference between vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian, pescetarian, raw vegan and macrobiotic

Diferencia entre vegano, vegetariano, flexitariano, pescetariano, crudivegano y macrobi贸tico

Do you know the difference between vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian, raw vegan, pescetarian or macrobiotic food? Below we offer you brief explanations of each of these ways of eating, in some cases, such as veganism , a philosophy of life that can cover all areas of daily life. But surely you already know that, so we will delve into some more unknown ones such as pescetarianism.


Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines, nor will they use clothing, products or objects of animal origin, nor that they have directly or indirectly intervened in their realization.

The word “Vegan” is used both to refer to the condition of some products, the diet and the people who follow it.


Flexitarian is a recently coined term to describe those who consume a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat. Many people who call themselves 鈥渇lexitarians鈥 or 鈥渟emi-vegetarians鈥 have abandoned red meat for health reasons, while others, for environmental reasons, only eat products of animal origin from farms or organic farms.


In other words, a vegetarian is someone who does not eat any type of meat. A vegetarian does not eat chicken, hamburgers, steak, fish, shrimp, lobster, or any animal or shellfish. The word itself can be used as a noun, as in “That person is vegetarian,” or as an adjective to describe the diet, or way of eating, as in “That person follows a vegetarian diet.”

Lacto-vegetarian is sometimes used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products.

So do some vegetarians eat meat? No. Vegetarians do not eat meat. A flexitarian or semi-vegetarian is not a vegetarian.

Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo-vegetarian)

When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians. People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal meat of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (鈥渓acto鈥 comes from the Latin for milk, and 鈥渙vo鈥 for egg).

The lacto-ovo vegetarian , meaning a vegetarian who eats both eggs and dairy products, is the most common type of vegetarian. Learn more about lacto-ovo vegetarianism here.


The word “pescetarian” is occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating the meat of animals with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this type of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone towards a completely vegetarian diet.

In other words, a pescetarian is a person who eats fish, but does not eat beef, chicken, pork or any other type of meat – only fish and shellfish, and a pescetarian diet (adjective) is a diet that includes fish but not beef, chicken, pork or any other type of meat.

Why do people become Pescetarian or follow a Pescetarian diet?

What are the reasons for adopting a pescetarian way of eating? Proponents cite more or less the same motivators as pure-bred vegetarians and even vegans: weight loss and longevity in personal health, reduced environmental footprint, and concern about cruelty to animals.
Pescetarians often believe that moderate consumption of fish or fish oils, which are high in Omega-3 fatty acids, is necessary for optimal health, although there are vegetarian alternatives, such as flax seed oil.

So is a pescetarian a vegetarian? No. A pescetarian is not a vegetarian. There is a lot of confusion about what a vegetarian is and is not, but no definition of the term includes fish or shellfish. To be 100% clear, a vegetarian diet excludes all animals; and fish are animals. Therefore, a diet that includes fish, or a person who consumes fish, cannot be properly called a vegetarian. A pescetarian is NOT a vegetarian, and a vegetarian diet does not include fish.

Is a pescetarian the same as a semi-vegetarian or a flexitarian ?

Not really, but more or less. A “semi-vegetarian” or a “flexitarian” is someone who eats a mostly vegetarian diet, occasionally supplemented with meat, although there is no really agreed definition of how often you can eat meat and still call yourself a semi. -Vegetarian or Flexitarian: Once a day? Once a week? Once a month? Pescetarians are not limited to “occasional” fish and can eat fish as little or as often as they prefer.

Crudivegan / raw food

A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 46 degrees Celsius. Raw vegans believe that food cooked above this temperature has lost a significant amount of its nutritional value and is harmful to the body.